A Fresh Summer Meal

After arriving home from work a few days ago a good friend called and wanted to get together and cook. This happens to me quite a bit and I am always excited to cook something new (or something I know and love) for a friend or family member. I didn’t have much time, so going to the market before cooking time wasn’t possible. I quickly looked through my fridge and cabinets to see what I could come up with. What I came up with was easy and delicious!

First, I had some organic, free range, chicken breasts that I marinated in lemon juice and garlic. I have recently found this amazing new seasoning that I would highly recommend, California Lemon Peel, that I also used in the marinade.

I only had about an hour and a half to marinate, so I made sure that I tenderized the chicken first.

While the chicken was absorbing all that yummy lemon flavor, I started cutting the vegetables that would construct my sauce: fresh zucchini, roma tomatoes, and asparagus. After slicing and dicing, I combined the veggies in a bowl with more lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, cracked pepper, onion and garlic powder, lemon peel seasoning, and a pinch of dried dill. I then let the veggies sit in the mixture for about 45 minutes before cooking them. This allows them to devour all of the seasonings and become a bit soft before cooking.


Once my guest arrived with the wine, I started putting everything on heat. I have this really amazing indoor/outdoor George Foreman grill (yes, it is a “girl” grill) that I used to cook the chicken and then I simmered the veggies over medium to low heat for about 30 minutes. After the veggies got soft, I kept them on the lowest heat until the chicken was done. Cooking the veggies this long gives them more of a “sauce” like quality, as well as texture. I also boiled some whole wheat linguine.

Once the chicken was done, the linguine went on the plate, followed by a large helping of the simmered vegetables, the chicken, and then a sprinkle of all natural parmesan cheese. And just because I love anything with lemon, I squeezed a bit more fresh lemon juice on top. A simple, easy, light, and delicious summertime recipe!

I also had some of the more “masculine” wine I have had in a while. My friend, Josh, brought a local Outlaw Red (that is right, we have a “local” winery in Moab, Utah) and also this Chardonnay that I had never seen before: Gnarly Head. Of course a man picked these out! So amazing. I will say this–Gnarly Head Chardonnay is delicious; very crisp and not as wood flavored as some other heavier Chardonnays I have had. It has light buttery overtones, but nothing that was overbearing. This is a great summer wine and went perfectly with the chicken. I highly recommend you pick up this reasonably priced bottle the next time you are looking for a good Chardonnay. Be aware, however, this is a heavier wine than your run of the mill Pinot Gringo or Riesling. It is in true form, a Chardonnay–just a really delicious one!

3 responses to “A Fresh Summer Meal

  1. This looks and sounds amazing. Now I just need to learn how to cook. I am excited to see more to come.

  2. YUM. all those veggies looked DELIC. i want that grill you have. i know we already have an outdoor grill, but i LOVE yours. so easy to hook up right there in the kitchen! easy clean up! delicious food!

    i want a glass of wine and fresh veggies now!

  3. Kim Parkinson

    Those veggies look so fresh and delicious! And I am definitely going to pick up a bottle of that Gnarly Head Chardonnay.

Leave a Reply

