Meatloaf and Blueberry Pancakes!

Happy Friday, Everyone!  Let the weekend commence!

I hadn’t jumped on the scale in about a week and a half until this morning–and I am happy to report I am now 17 lbs down total since New Year!  I can almost “taste” my goal!  And, I can start including some wine in my diet again next weekend.  Hooray!

I haven’t changed much with my diet.  I have been eating fruit sparingly (only one serving per day) and been sticking close to the salads and proteins. Today, I decided that I am going to start including some whole grains every few days to feed those brain cells a bit. Not eating carbs at all is not something you can or should keep up for a long time, and two months is about my threshold.  So, this morning, I ate a whole grain toaster waffle (you have to make sure that NO white flour is included in any of your whole grain items) with Smart Balance butter and sugar-free jam.  It was a nice change from hard boiled eggs.

This week I made a great turkey meatloaf, which also includes a small amount of whole grain oats.  This is a great recipe if you want to try it!

Nosh Maven Meatloaf

  • 1 can 6 oz tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine, or cooking wine
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbs dried basil leaves
  • 1 tbs oregano
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1 pound ground turkey (or chicken)
  • 1/2 cup whole grain oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small/med zucchini, shredded or finely chopped

You should set your oven to 350 and preheat while mixing ingredients.  First, you start with your sauce (this is WAY better than using ketchup or marinara sauce).  Combine all the ingredients listed before “turkey” into a small sauce pan and let simmer while you combine the rest of the ingredients for your meatloaf. After the turkey, zucchini, egg, and oats are mixed together, add in half of the tomato sauce mixture.  Shape the loaf and cook for about 40 – 45 minutes.  Then, remove the meatloaf and add the rest of the tomato sauce to the top of the meatloaf and cook for another 10 – 15 minutes.  You can also add some Parmesan cheese at this time, which is a nice addition.

For a side dish, I made an arugula salad with tomatoes, avocado, and parmesan.  I also made the dressing homemade (you avoid a lot of sugar by doing this) with equal parts olive oil and balsamic vinegar with garlic salt and sea salt.  It was a great pop of flavor to the side of the meatloaf.

The other food item that is SAVING MY LIFE right now is that coconut flour I made the peanut butter cookies with in the last post.  This week, I had a mad crazy craving for pancakes.  I don’t even normally make or order pancakes, but I wanted some.  So, we found this great recipe for coconut flour pancakes, where each pancake had about 3 total carbs.  We also added some blueberries.  They were AWESOME.

Here are a few other things from the past few days that have been getting me by.

Almond Milk, much fewer carbs than regular milk!

Salads with pepperoncinis, olives, and cheddar cheese

Deviled Eggs with Dill instead of Paprika

I am hoping that once I start adding some carbohydrates back into my diet, I can kick up the pace with working out.  Everyone who knows me know that I LOATHE working out–well, until I am finished and feel good about it. ;)  However, it is really hard to do intense work outs when your body doesn’t have the extra energy from carbs.  So, we shall see how that progresses…ha!

I hope everyone has a great weekend and that noshing on delicious things is a highlight.  I hope you are all ready for a wine post–because I am!! 8 more days until this little Nosh Maven is THIRTY TWO and toasting with a glass of vino!

 

 

Pin It

 

Leave a Reply

